Best Eye Drops for PRK: TheraTears Leads
Five preservative-free and lubricant eye drops compared for post-PRK dryness, screen fatigue and sensitive eyes, with a named winner and four alternates.
The best eye drops for PRK in this shortlist are the TheraTears Dry & Tired preservative-free vials, a 30-count box of single-use doses from a brand marketed as doctor-created for dry eyes. If a shared multi-dose bottle suits your household better, the Blink Triple Care 0.4 fl oz bottle is the pick, with a hyaluronic acid and lipid formula the listing claims delivers relief for up to ten hours.
The best eye drops for PRK at a glance
| Pick | Format | Preservative-free? | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall TheraTears Dry & Tired Eye Drops |
30 single-use vials | Yes | Check Price |
| Best for families Blink Triple Care Lubricating Eye Drops |
0.4 fl oz bottle | Yes (claim) | Check Price |
| Most versatile Soothe Preservative-Free Lubricant Eye Drops |
30 single-use vials | Yes | Check Price |
| Best budget pick Splash Refresh Soothing Eye Drops |
0.5 fl oz bottle | Not stated | Check Price |
| Best premium Deuiosna Eyes Optifusion Drops |
0.13 fl oz, pack of 2 | Not stated | Check Price |
A note on PRK and what this shortlist actually covers
PRK is photorefractive keratectomy, a laser vision procedure that leaves the corneal surface healing for weeks. None of the five listings here is marketed specifically as a post-PRK product, and none names PRK in its bullet points. The Soothe listing mentions LASIK dryness in its title, which is the closest match, but that is still a different procedure.
What that means in practice is simple. This shortlist is the best eye drops for PRK-style dryness that a shopper can actually put in a cart on Amazon today: preservative-free lubricants and comfort drops that surgeons commonly point patients toward for dryness, screen fatigue and general irritation. Your surgeon's post-op plan is the source of truth. If the drop you were told to use is on this page, buy it. If it is not, buy what your surgeon told you and treat this list as a companion for the tired-eye, dry-eye stretch that lingers after the medicated drops end.
1. TheraTears Dry & Tired Eye Drops — Best overall
Preservative-free single-use vials from a brand marketed as doctor-created for dry eyes, and the most complete fit for the best eye drops for PRK brief in this set.

Best for: recovering PRK patients who want preservative-free single-use vials Skip it if: you prefer a multi-dose bottle you can toss in a bag
TheraTears wins here on format and framing. The pack is a 30-count box of single-use vials, so every dose is a fresh, preservative-free vial with nothing to contaminate between drops. That matters after PRK, when surgeons commonly ask you to dose lubricants many times a day and want to keep preservatives off a healing corneal surface. TheraTears says these vials contain twice the hydrating ingredient of the original formula, and positions the drops for dry, tired eyes and screen fatigue rather than short bursts of irritation. The listing describes it as a doctor-created brand, and the marketing appeals to the same audience post-laser patients belong to. On price it sits mid-pack of the five, so you are not paying the premium band for the preservative-free format. The trade-off against the Blink bottle is quantity of liquid per dose and portability: 30 vials is finite, and single-use packaging generates more waste than a single bottle.
Pros:
- 30 single-use preservative-free vials
- Positioned for dry and tired eyes plus screen fatigue
- Mid-band price for a preservative-free format
- Doctor-created brand framing on the listing
- Twice the hydrating ingredient of the original, per the brand
Cons:
- Not specifically marketed for post-PRK use
- Vials run out and cannot be refilled
- More packaging waste than a bottle
2. Blink Triple Care Preservative Free Lubricating Eye Drops — Best for families
A 0.4 fl oz preservative-free bottle with a hyaluronic acid and castor oil formula the brand claims delivers up to ten hours of relief.

Best for: a shared bathroom shelf where several people need one bottle Skip it if: your surgeon told you to stick to preservative-free vials
Blink Triple Care is the pick if your household wants one bottle instead of a box of vials. The listing describes a preservative-free formula built around hyaluronic acid for moisture retention and a lipid nano-emulsion with castor oil to slow tear evaporation, which is the two-layer problem most dry-eye drops try to solve. Blink says 93% of users in a company-cited study reported feeling better, with relief for up to ten hours per application. Take that as an attributed claim, not a measured fact. The 0.4 fl oz bottle is the largest single container in this set by stated volume, and it sits in the premium price band, which is the trade-off. For a PRK patient specifically, ask your surgeon before choosing a multi-dose bottle over vials during the healing window: many will still prefer vials until the surface has closed. Post-recovery, this is the drop I would put on a shared shelf.
Pros:
- Preservative-free bottle format
- Hyaluronic acid and castor oil dual-action formula, per the brand
- Up to ten hours of relief, per Blink's cited study
- Largest single container in this set at 0.4 fl oz
- Easy to share across a household
Cons:
- Premium price band
- A shared bottle is not what every post-PRK protocol wants
- Efficacy figures are the brand's, not independent
3. Soothe Preservative-Free Lubricant Eye Drops — Most versatile
Bausch + Lomb's 30-count preservative-free vial pack, the only listing in this set that names post-laser dryness in its title.

Best for: sensitive eyes and post-laser dryness on a tighter budget Skip it if: you want the newest formula in the set
Soothe is the closest thing on this shortlist to a drop marketed for laser-surgery dryness: the full listing title calls out LASIK dryness by name, which is the nearest neighbour to PRK a shopper is likely to find on Amazon without a prescription. The pack is the same format as the winner, 30 single-use preservative-free vials, and it comes in at the second-cheapest position of the five, which is the reason it earns Most versatile. If you want the vial format, want a surface-surgery framing on the box, and would rather not pay mid-band, Soothe is the pick. The listing is older than the others in the set, with a 2017 release date on file, and the feature copy is thinner than TheraTears or Blink: three bullets covering lubrication, preservative-free format and brand trust, with no ingredient detail on the page. That is the trade-off. You get a proven format from a large eye-care brand, without the marketing polish of the newer entries.
Pros:
- 30 single-use preservative-free vials
- Only listing that names post-laser dryness
- Second-cheapest of the five
- Bausch + Lomb brand backing
- Gentle enough for sensitive eyes, per the listing
Cons:
- Sparse feature detail on the Amazon page
- Older release date than the others
- No published ingredient list on the listing
4. Splash Refresh Soothing Eye Drops — Best budget pick
A 0.5 fl oz chamomile-containing daily-use bottle, the cheapest of the five and the one aimed most directly at tired, screen-weary eyes.

Best for: screen fatigue and general tiredness rather than surgical recovery Skip it if: you need preservative-free drops for frequent dosing
Splash Refresh is the cheapest of the five and the only one with chamomile called out on the front of the label. The listing positions it as a daily-use moisturising lubricant for tired, uncomfortable eyes, with a 0.5 fl oz bottle and application copy suggesting one or two drops as needed. Preservative status is not stated on the listing, which is the reason it is not the top pick for anyone actively recovering from PRK: if the box does not say preservative-free, assume it is not, and dose accordingly. Where this bottle earns a spot is later on. Once the surface has fully healed and your surgeon has stepped you off medicated drops, screen fatigue and general dryness often linger for months. A cheap, pleasant, daily-use bottle for that stretch is exactly the job Splash Refresh is built for. As a companion to a recovery routine, not a replacement, it works.
Pros:
- Cheapest of the five
- Chamomile-containing formula, per the label
- 0.5 fl oz bottle, largest stated volume in the set
- Positioned for tired eyes and screen fatigue
- Simple daily-use dosing
Cons:
- Preservative status not stated on the listing
- Not a surgical-recovery product
- Slowest seller of the five in category
5. Deuiosna Eyes Optifusion Drops — Best premium
A 0.13 fl oz nano-format pair marketed with lutein and vitamins, and the highest price position in this set.

Best for: someone drawn to a nano-format novelty pair Skip it if: you want a full ingredient list and a clear post-surgery use case
The Deuiosna Optifusion pair is the outlier of the shortlist and earns Best premium by price position alone. The pack is two 0.13 fl oz bottles, a small combined volume against the 0.4 and 0.5 fl oz bottles elsewhere in this set, and the listing frames the drops as a nano-format daily solution with lutein and vitamins. Beyond a size, count and category path in Allergy Eye Drops, the listing publishes far less than the others: no weight, no dimensions, no bullet features stored on the page, no preservative statement, and only one seller listing it. That is why it lands last. For a PRK-focused buyer this is not the pick, because the case a healing corneal surface needs, preservative-free framing with a clear lubricant role, is not on the page. Its place on the shortlist is honest coverage of the premium slot in the category, not a recommendation for surgery recovery. Choose one of the four above for that job.
Pros:
- Nano-format pair, unusual in the set
- Lutein and vitamins on the label
- Two bottles per pack
- Simple daily-use framing
Cons:
- Highest price position of the five
- Smallest combined volume in the set
- Only one seller stocks it
- No preservative statement on the listing
- The slowest seller of the five in its category
How I screened this shortlist
I lined up the published specifications side by side and asked one question first: which listings publish enough detail to be useful to someone recovering from a corneal-surface procedure? Three criteria decided the ranking, weighted in this order.
- Preservative-free format, either as single-use vials or as a bottle the brand explicitly labels preservative-free. Preservatives are the first thing most surgeons want off a healing surface, and they are the reason two of the five made the top three regardless of price.
- Listing completeness, meaning ingredient framing, size, dosing guidance and a clear stated use case. Sparse listings ranked lower even when the product itself might be fine.
- Fit to the buyer, meaning does the listing speak to the job a PRK patient or a recovering-laser patient actually has: dryness, screen fatigue, sensitivity.
Price broke ties. Where two picks looked similar on the first three, the cheaper won the more approachable slot and the more expensive earned a specific-use label. Nothing here is a substitute for your surgeon's own protocol, and if their recommended drop is not in this five, buy theirs.
Vials or bottles: which format wins after PRK?
The single most decisive question in this category is not brand or ingredient. It is packaging.
- Single-use vials, like the TheraTears and Soothe boxes of 30, are sealed, sterile, single-dose and preservative-free by design. You crack one, use it, discard it. For the frequent dosing schedule most surgeons write in the first weeks after PRK, that format is hard to beat.
- Preservative-free bottles, like Blink Triple Care, use packaging tricks to keep the liquid sterile without adding chemical preservatives. They are more convenient, less wasteful and easier to travel with. Whether your surgeon is happy with one during active recovery varies, so ask.
- Standard multi-dose bottles, like Splash Refresh, are the everyday format. Cheap, pleasant, fine for tired eyes months down the line, and not what you want dripping onto a healing cornea eight times a day.
The cutoff is simple. During the first weeks after surgery, default to vials unless your surgeon says otherwise. Once you are cleared, the format question opens up and price and convenience decide.
What the listings do not tell you
Amazon product pages skip a lot. Three things you will not find here, and how to handle each:
- Full ingredient panels are inconsistent. TheraTears and Blink mention active hydrating ingredients; Soothe and Splash do not go into detail; Deuiosna publishes almost nothing. If ingredient sensitivity matters to you, check the manufacturer's own site or the physical box before buying.
- Preservative status is not always stated. Two picks in this set, Splash Refresh and Deuiosna, do not confirm preservative-free status on the listing. Absence of the claim is not proof either way. It is a reason to look further before using them in early recovery.
- Expiry and dosing schedules are not on Amazon. Single-use vials often expire within hours of opening. Bottles have a use-by window after first opening that varies by brand. Read the leaflet.
How to actually use these drops through recovery
The listings will not give you a schedule, and neither will this article. Your surgeon will. What this list can do is help you match a product to a phase of recovery.
Early days, when medicated drops are still in the rotation and the corneal surface has not closed, preservative-free vials are the default lubricant. TheraTears or Soothe do that job in this set. Middle stretch, when the bandage contact lens is out and dosing frequency is dropping, a preservative-free bottle like Blink Triple Care becomes more practical, especially if you are back at work and dosing away from home. Later on, when the surface is healed and only the tired-eye tail is left, an everyday drop like Splash Refresh handles screen fatigue at the lowest cost per bottle in this shortlist.
That layered approach is why the winner and the runner-up are not interchangeable, and why a five-product list still makes sense for one procedure.
TheraTears vs Blink Triple Care: which should you buy?
If you are actively recovering, buy the TheraTears vials. Preservative-free by format, 30 doses in the box, a mid-band price and a brand story built around dry eye. It is the safest default for the phase of recovery where dosing is highest and the corneal surface is most fragile.
If you are past the surface-healing phase and looking for a household bottle, buy the Blink Triple Care. Its listing claim of up to ten hours per application is the brand's, but the hyaluronic acid and castor oil pairing is the more elaborate formula on this shortlist, and the 0.4 fl oz bottle is easier to live with than a box of vials once you stop dosing every hour. The cutoff is your surgeon's clearance. Before it, vials. After it, either, and Blink starts to make more sense.
The verdict
The best eye drops for PRK on this shortlist are the TheraTears Dry & Tired preservative-free vials. Thirty single-use doses, a mid-band price, a brand pitched squarely at dry, tired eyes, and the format most compatible with the dosing schedule surgeons hand out after surface-laser procedures. It is the pick I would put in a first-week recovery kit without hesitation.
Two conditions flip it. If your household will share the bottle and you are past the fragile early phase, the Blink Triple Care 0.4 fl oz preservative-free bottle wins on convenience and formula depth: hyaluronic acid, castor oil, a claimed ten hours of relief per application. If you want the vial format at the lowest price and the closest surgical-recovery framing in this set, Soothe is the pick, and its LASIK-dryness title is the nearest surgical claim anyone here makes. Splash Refresh belongs later in recovery, when tired eyes rather than a healing cornea are the problem. Deuiosna is the premium curiosity of the group and not the drop I would buy for post-PRK dryness. Whatever you choose, your surgeon's protocol overrules this page.
FAQ
Are any of these eye drops actually approved for PRK?
Approved for PRK is not a phrase any of these five listings uses. None of them names PRK by name on the Amazon page. Soothe mentions LASIK dryness in its title, which is the closest surgical framing in the set. Treat this shortlist as lubricant and comfort drops suitable for the dryness that follows surface-laser procedures, and follow your surgeon's protocol for anything medicated.
Is it worth paying more for preservative-free eye drops after surgery?
Worth paying more for preservative-free eye drops depends on how often you dose. Preservatives in multi-dose bottles are added to stop bacterial growth, and frequent dosing onto a healing corneal surface is exactly the situation surgeons want to keep them out of. During active recovery, the extra cost is usually worth it. Months later, when you are dosing once or twice a day for screen fatigue, a standard bottle is fine.
What is the difference between single-use vials and a preservative-free bottle?
The difference between single-use vials and a preservative-free bottle is sterility strategy. Vials are sealed, sterile and disposable, so preservatives are unnecessary. Bottles like Blink Triple Care use packaging designs to keep the liquid sterile after opening, without adding chemical preservatives. Vials waste less liquid per dose and travel poorly in bulk. Bottles are more convenient day to day but harder to justify during the first fragile weeks after PRK.
TheraTears or Blink Triple Care for daily dry eye after recovery?
TheraTears or Blink Triple Care both work for daily dry eye once you are cleared, and the choice comes down to format. TheraTears gives you 30 preservative-free vials, ideal if you want a fresh dose every time and do not mind the packaging. Blink Triple Care gives you one 0.4 fl oz preservative-free bottle with a hyaluronic acid and castor oil formula, more convenient for a bag and better for shared household use.
What should I avoid in eye drops during PRK recovery?
Avoid in eye drops during PRK recovery anything your surgeon has not cleared, anything with a red-eye or vasoconstrictor active ingredient, and, in the early phase, anything preserved with older-generation preservatives if you are dosing frequently. The Splash Refresh and Deuiosna listings in this set do not state preservative-free status, which is a reason to leave them for later in recovery rather than the first weeks. Ask your surgeon before adding any drop to your routine.
Take the recovery timeline your surgeon gave you, mark the point where medicated drops end, and use that as the switch between vial-heavy and bottle-friendly. Order the TheraTears vials for the first stretch, keep a Blink Triple Care bottle for the desk or the bag once you are cleared, and leave the cheaper daily bottles for the tired-eye months after that. The reason TheraTears leads this list is not the marketing. It is the match between a 30-vial preservative-free box and the dosing schedule an early PRK week actually looks like, at a price that does not sit in the premium band. Buy the format that fits the phase you are in.
Last updated: September 18, 2026. Product availability re-checked.
This page contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.